My Kind of Wisdom

My kind of wisdom
 
Just because my kind of wisdom
Doesn't wear buckskin,
Isn't hung with feathers,
Isn't decorated with crystals
And isn't inscribed with runes and sigils,
It doesn't mean it isn't real.
Just because my kind of wisdom
Doesn't require mastering
An arcane language,
Higher mathematics
Or a degree in theology,
It doesn't mean it isn't deep.
Just because my kind of wisdom
Doesn't ask me to stand
On one leg for years,
Beat myself with whips,
And starve myself half to death,
It doesn't mean it hasn't cost.
Homespun, home-grown, homemade:
You know, from somewhere far off,
It might look as exotic as yours.
by Viv
10 thoughts on “My Kind of Wisdom

    • Vanessa, a welcome to you. Thank you for adding me to your blog roll; I’m only slowly getting the hang of all the widgets and gizmos in this blogging lark. I’ve only ever been an onlooker before and it took a bit of courage to start.

  1. Hi Fibi, good to have you here. Glad you liked it.
    Psychescribe, again, thank you.
    I’ve belonged to a number of spirituality-based groups over the years and found myself feeling somehow inferior because I didn’t come from various exotic traditions. But having worked with students from overseas, I have now begun to see that it’s all relative. For the Chinese students, scones and jam are exotic and strange and it’s the same for spiritual things. A normal Anglican hymn-sandwich service is probably the height of weird for many from other cultures!

Leave a Reply

