Contact Points, a book plug

It’s taken me longer than I intended to write this post and for this I apologise.

I’m doing a little bit of a book plug, for a friend. It’s a very unusual little book in terms of its subject matter, and for that subject matter, it’s also unusual  because of it’s down to earth and non-sensational approach to an area that is hopelessly prone to drama and sensationalism.

Contact Points is a series of short essays about the communication of the dead with the living, and was written by Elaine Moss. You can read more about the book and why Elaine wrote it at    http://elainemoss.com/home.html

I’ve known Elaine for quite a long time, really, as the wife of a lecturer who taught my husband some branch of chemistry back in the dim and distant past when he was an undergraduate, but we didn’t meet up until some years later.

Now, part of the reason that my husband and I got to know John and Elaine Moss was because we were feeling increasingly isolated within the wider church, and especially in the Church of England, because of our interests in the paranormal aspects of spirituality. I’ve been a sort of visionary and mystic most of my life and like many before me, found it hard to fit in with a community that is, in essence, terrified of this sort of thing. We had a lovely long chat once day with Elaine and John and felt a lot better  to hear we were not freaks or apostates. 

It was a good many years later before I finally joined The Churches Fellowship for Psychical and Spiritual Studies and discovered that I was far from alone. You can find a link to their wesbite if you click on the useful links on Elaine’s website. It’s not kept as up-to-date as it ought to be but it’ll give you more information about them.

Elaine kindly sent me a copy of her book after I read it at my friend Kate’s. Kate has been helping Elaine edit and then market and distribute the book, and I found the book both intriguing and comforting. I dislike anything that hypes up the whole Ghost Whisperer kind of thing and Elaine’s book is delightfully understated and very English in many ways. When I first met Elaine she was working on breeding daffodils; I believe she now works on carnations! You can’t get more English than that!

If you do decide to buy a copy, I’d advise you to buy it direct from Elaine rather than Amazon if you can. This way she gets more money; Amazon don’t pay much! That said, Elaine isn’t terribly interested in making any money back, but Kate, who’s effectively her agent, is keen that the book reaches at many people at possible.

The book doesn’t give definitive answers, something I liked, and it raises a lot more questions too. Have a read through the website, and if it interests you, have a look at the CFPSS website too. It shows the churches in a very different light from the one you may be used to.

2 thoughts on “Contact Points, a book plug

  1. How interesting. I’ve never really had any experiences like this, with perhaps the exception of finding a book my mom wanted me to have after her death. I prayed for some sort of communication from her, and I found a Bible with my name on the flyleaf and the word “inheritance”. Still gives me goosebumps. Otherwise, though, I think I’m a bit resistant. I have friends who have had experiences, though.

    • That’s an amazing experience Alice, no wonder it gave you goosebumps!
      I’ve had a fair few “weird” experiences over the years, including seeing and experiencing ghostly phenomena as well as witnessing poltergeist activity, but beyond extraordinary dreams I haven’t had any sort of communication with the dead whom I have known and loved.
      I do a sort of ghost walk tour for some of the groups of students who come in (allegedly there’s going to be full ghost tours for the winter season, which it is assumed I will run, though no one has said anything about paying me any extra to prepare the tours. Again it’s just assumed I’ll do it) and when the inevitable student says to me that ghosts do not exist or that it’s impossible, I am obliged to disagree. Usually their skills with language do not permit a decent debate, but I usually say simply that since we do not actually know everything about the universe and that 200 years ago, a computer was unthought-of, they should keep an open mind about it rather than simply deny millenia of human experiences.

Leave a Reply

