A little boost

My “other” boss rang me today. I was scrabbling around on the floor trying to sort out all the piles of lesson plans and materials and handouts from the last 7 months so I have some way of finding materials etc again when I need them and discarding old class lists, surplus print-outs and notes. I’ve now got a big pile of paper to recycle later but I’m much tidier. I can almost get my legs under my desk again.

Anyway, my trip to Lille is still waiting for confirmation, but a different one, taking in Cologne, Aachen and finally Lille on the way back has come my way. My colleague from school (Ingrid) has previously taken this group but she’s now decided she doesn’t want to do these trips any more. Her words were (after a heavy crossing last winter) “I’m getting too old for this!” and so I have a couple of days work in November.

There may be more but my boss is waiting for confirmation of the probable one and also for other groups to say whether they want a courier or not. Now to be honest, I think having a good courier can make a trip go much better; but also a bad one can really put a damper on it.

So that’s work in November. December I don’t yet know about. January is still empty but if the French group who were dithering about an October trip to the school decide that Swine flu is still too much of a risk, then they will probably come in January (don’t quite understand that one but hey!). I hope to find out in the next few days if they decided to come or not; even though we’re off, I’ve said I’m available if really needed. 

But the best news is that I am still wanted to go to Austria in February for maybe six days. I know the school is going to want me then, because they’re going to need 10+ teachers for that halfterm week but to be honest, added up, I suspect that the probable teaching hours and a few excursions is not going to add up to what I will be paid for going to Austria. My boss is apologetic that my pay isn’t that great; but I’m not bothered because when it comes down to it all my board and lodgings and my flights and so on are paid for and if it comes to a contest of which is going to be more challenging and look better on a CV, then Austria wins hands down.

It’s a little better. I’m still feeling alarmingly low and prone to fits of tears, but at the very least I have a focus for the next months: getting my German up to scratch and also practising my French.

Since I’m going to no less than three Christmas markets (Cologne, Aachen and Lille), I may even do some Christmas shopping as well.

I really ought to trust more.

9 thoughts on “A little boost

    • I speak fair French, which needs improvement and practise to get it back to what it was years ago, and a bit of German, enough for a tourist. I understand some Spanish and Italian, especially written, but speak very little.
      I studied also Latin (to degree level) as well as some ancient Greek and also middle and old English. I used to feel I could pick up any language very easily but these days, now I am past 40, it’s hard recovering my grasp of French and German!
      I suspect you put me to shame since you are a translator by trade!

  1. I am a translator from English into Bulgarian and from Bulgarian into English. It’s true once I had to interpret a discussion from Russian into English, but I’d rather not to, I feel insecure. Apart from Russian, which I can speak quite well, I understand very little German and much more Italian, but I don’t speak them. I’m starting to pick up quite a few words and phrases in Hindi because I have Indian colleagues, but that’s far from really understanding the language.

    • Bless you! To be honest, I wouldn’t guess you weren’t English by your writing; the odd “mistake” is as likely to be a typo or a stylistic exploration.
      I must email J about the book. that reminds me.
      xxx

  2. It was unintentional. I made a typo mistake and then, without thinking, clicked the topmost variant that the spell check offered, so here is the result. I wish it were a stylistic exploration, but it’s only the consequence of my hastiness.

    • Most English people wouldn’t know the difference anyway; the level of literacy in this country is actually dropping whatever the government figures claim!
      j says he’ll send you something from me, soon!

    • Most English people wouldn’t know the difference anyway; the level of literacy in this country is actually dropping whatever the government figures claim!
      j says he’ll send you something from me, soon!

Leave a Reply

