No masks

I’ve been thinking about the masks we wear and particularly the artifical masks us ladies wear. OK, not all of us do but I tend not to feel right for the world if I don’t put on mascara in the morning. It comes down to having eyelashes that are almost white and feeling like I look like some sort of albino bunny rabbit if I don’t. But usually, mascara is about the only thing I wouldn’t give up using. The rest is a form of a mask.

I hate to see young girls of 13 or 14 with full foundation, blusher, shader and the rest, layered on with a trowel. I know some do it to hide acne, and that’s OK. It’s the ones who could never leave home without it, let a boyfriend see them bare faced that I feel sorry for.

I also hate to see women of any age wearing make up that might have suited them a few(or indeed many) years ago but doesn’t now. Especially women of a certain age, prone to hot flushes and sweating, should never wear shiny, sparkly make up during the day: it just looks like a sheen of sweat or grease. I do wonder if they look in the mirror and see the women they used to be and not what they are now. We change; our skin tones change, both as the year does, and as we age. Subtle changes sometimes that means you put on a colour that used to look good and suddenly doesn’t. If you have time, you find something else, but many don’t. I have a colleague who puts on lipstick without a mirror using the same technique as applying a stick of lip balm. Needless to say, the effect isn’t what she thinks it is.

I do wonder why women wear make up at all. To look better, to feel more confident? During WWII, lipstick and powder were rationed, but then taken off rationing because it was felt that being able to get some meant a morale boost. What woman hasn’t at some stage bought a new lipstick to cheer herself up?

But today, nothing. I chose to be barefaced all day.

No masks.

What about you?

9 thoughts on “No masks

  1. That’s really wonderful!

    How about young girls who have their legs waxed? Sort of a reverse non-mask!

    Or spa days – I’ve heard of that, too.

    I remember going into work one day, having forgotten to put on mascara. I felt awful!

    Recently, being retired, I have a week go by without make-up. But I love my eye liner!!!!

    Nice post! Glad I met you on-line!

    • I too love my eyeliner; I found a fabulous one from http://www.bnevertoobusytobebeautiful.com. Well actually at their shop in Covent Garden. Its a gold that is exactly the same shade as the line around the eyes of a common frog in England. My husband calls it my froggy eyeliner.
      There’s a scene in mel Gibson’s film, What women want, where the hero has a go at waxing his legs and comments about why would anyone do that twice. Tried it once and cried with the pain: that’s from a woman who spent over 24 hours in labour!

      • I’ve just added B to the cool shopping links, checked it worked and then discovered that the whole place is closing by the end of the year. I am really disappointed but they said it’s going to be absorbed by its parent company LUSH, so hopefully at least by mail order my favourites will still be available.

  2. There is something cheap and vulgar about heavy make-up. My principle is the more discreet, the better. However, I could never give up wearing eyeliner and mascara. Maybe it’s because eyes matter a lot to me. People’s eyes have always impressed me deeply and I believe they say a lot about the individual too.

    • The “eyes” have it, boom boom. Poor pun but so true.
      I know what you mean because it’s pretty much how I see it. My colleague who puts on lipstick without a mirror seems favour the same approach with the rest of her makeup; a shotgun blast with random colours!

Leave a Reply

