Scenting Integrity

I’ve long been a great fan of scented smoke, be it joss sticks or “proper” grain incense, much to the chagrin of my mother who thought it must be something to do with hash…

I’m a bit of a geek when it comes to it. I don’t think I can count how many brands I have tried. The incense from Greater goods http://www.greatergoods.co.uk ticks all the right boxes for me. Beautful scents, not too smokey, long burning, reliably combustible and more important yet, fair trade. If you have a look at their website you will discover they do great things in the world of workers’ rights and so on, and  this adds extra sweetness to their incense. Many joss stick companies use children and the conditions are appalling.

For all this, you might expect a massive extra in the price range. Not so. They’re about the same price as any incense stick bought at your local bing-bong shop (s0 called because of the cacophany of windchimes usually hung outside!).

I had an article published this time last year on the use of aromatics in a sacred context in the magazine Sacred Hoop and I am in the slow process of writing a book of meditations using aromatics of all sorts, including incense. Incorporating scented smoke into your life, whether for prayer, relaxation or simply for pleasure and air freshening is a very rewarding experience and using incense from Greater Goods, it means it will also be rewarding for those who make it too.

9 thoughts on “Scenting Integrity

  1. I love the smell of frankincese, sandlewood, rosemary, bergomot (which is why Twinings Earl Grey is my favorite tea) and cedar. In AZ I used a sage smudge stick a few times It had a very clean smell. I wish these folks were here in the US. Right now we have a cinnamon “broom” in the house and it smells like Christmas.

  2. Viv,

    One of my guests today brought me a beautiful scented candle. Once everyone departed, I placed it on my writing desk and lit the candle.

    I love scent as well, and I am entranced by the flickering of the candle flame. It soothes my spirit.

    Nice post.

    Janell

  3. I have to admit that I love the smell of incense burning. For me it turns a moment into one that has more depth. I guess it stems back to the time of being a youth enchanted with the mysteries of the church.

    I have been away for almost two weeks and it is good to be back home with regular computer/Internet access.

  4. I too am an incense mavin, Viv. I’ve even tried blending my own. Nothing says mystical moments like a cloud of incense and the odor of sanctity. One of my biggest regrets is tat many people are very sensitive to incense and they eschew a room filled with it. As a result, I’ve scaled back quite a bit on its use during liturgical celebrations. Ah, but when I am alone, it’s another story.

    • Often its a perception that the smoke will make themn cough(i don’t include asthmatics here). A friend did an experiment when he carried in a censer with only the charcoal unlit upon it and people began coughing instantly. He then pointed out to them that there was no reason to cough!
      I have just bought a nifty gadget at the Cologne cathdral shop which means I can burn incense without charcoal; it’s a little stove thing, with a space for a candle and then a fine wire grill for the incense above. Seems to work very well¬

Leave a Reply

