Shadow Puppet

 

Shadow puppet

 

The shadows are there

Even when the sun shines

Even when there’s a smile on my face

The shadows are there

Even when everything seems fine

Even when I can see nothing but light

The shadows speak in dusty voices

Soft as the ghosts of feathers

With spines of steel and bones of ice

Cutting to the heart of my dreams

They speak with poison and sugar

With a kindness that kills

The shadows are there

Taking the joy from me

Spoiling the daylight

Thunder clouds on a summer

Threatening me with war

I push them back with patient hands

To the deepest corner of my mind

And let them whisper their dreadful lies

I’ll deal with them another time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Shadow Puppet

  1. The shadows invade my mind more often than I like to admit.

    But perhaps it is thanks to the shadow that I’m able to appreciate the light when it’s there.

    Thanks for sharing the poem.
    XXX

    • I found it quite hard to deal with while away; partly because I was so active and so tired.
      I think you may be right about appreciating the light because of knowing the shadows are there.
      xx

  2. I can never fully give myself over to the good things.
    The shadows are always there.
    I love the poem especially:

    Soft as the ghosts of feathers

    With spines of steel and bones of ice

    Have you ever seen two shadows at noon?

Leave a Reply

