Mummy

 

Mummy.

He looks enough like my father

To make me feel very guilty

For standing gawping open-mouthed

At the shrunken leather features,

The hands folded neatly as if in prayer,

And the feet poking pathetically

From the unravelling linen.

I like to look but I hate myself

For enjoying it so much.

Empty eye sockets packed with cloth

Gaze blindly and forlornly back,

The worn teeth slightly visible beneath

Withered and blackened lips in rictus smile.

He’s long beyond truly smiling

And even further beyond caring

What I, the onlooker, may see.

To end his existence as an artefact

Encased in a glassy tomb

Seems a form of hell far beyond

Anything he might have expected

Of his promised after-life.

But it is an immortality of sorts.

 

(this is about another Mummy, one I saw some years ago in Derby city museum. I must write one for Ginger too. )

5 thoughts on “Mummy

  1. Such a beautiful poem Viv! “Seems a form of hell far beyond Anything he might have expected Of his promised after-life.” I think this describes a very common fear for all man kind!

Leave a Reply

