Make me a channel of your peace

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon:
where there is doubt, faith ;
where there is despair, hope
where there is darkness, light
where there is sadness, joy
O divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
Amen.

The above poem is attributed to St Francis of Assisi, that saint of many tales. Most people realise he is the patron saint of animals but he’s also the patron saint of the environment now, putting his appeal more widely. The Canticle of the Sun is a lovely example of how we are all intertwined and connected, with the natural world and how each part is needed.
The reason I have posted this is because I needed a reality check for myself. I have said on occasions that one of the reasons I write is in the hope that in doing so I will be understood. In reality, I need to understand more than I need to be understood. I have been thinking about Francis for some days now and thinking about how I live my life. I need to remember also that “it is in giving that I receive” but what Francis doesn’t say(because maybe to him this is self-evident) that you must not give SO THAT you shall receive. A gift is a gift; once you give it, it is gone. You cannot give freely believing that in doing so you will receive.
It’s like the whole Hundredth Monkey thing. No one can know if they are the final piece in the jigsaw, and deciding that one is that piece is a surefire way to temporary insanity. Give or act because it is the right thing to do, not because you think it is going to assure you a place in history or a tenfold return. It’s this inherent selfishness that is what distorted a lot of good teachings and what made theories(like that of THE SECRET) so unstable and unusable.
The wind blows where it will, and like it, the Holy Spirit is untrammelled by our agendas and selfish desires.

AMEN.

24 thoughts on “Make me a channel of your peace

  1. I think I write to understand myself as well… It’s sort of a gift I give myself; nothing lost, nothing gained and all is worth if I get to understand even a fragment of myself.

    Your writing and poems have brought so much joy and inspiration to my life Viv, I definitely consider them as a gift! 🙂

  2. I agree with controveros and I think the last line is the best but I do so love listeth and even read it that way the first time . Listeth, time was running out for it but you did it ,you made my day.
    Listeth la la la la …….. this is honest and not cynical.

    peace

  3. I too agree with controveros. Your writings truly are gifts. You know my reaction to “The Bet” and how it blew my mind.

    A gift can only be a gift if it has been given freely or even anonymously without any hidden agenda or rule of reciprocation, or as you mentioned; a way of assuring a place in history.
    xxx

  4. Thanks for a beautiful post:)

    A Suggestion – it’d be great if you could put the links to the stories that’ve appeared on your blog in separate page. It’ll be a boon to your fans.

    Warm Regards,
    Shafali

      • OK, I had a look at creating a new page and because of the sheer volume of material, I realised it would be a lot of hassle. My category link has now moved to the top of the page and if you scroll down the categories, short stories are there.
        xx

      • It’s much nicer that way:) Now I can read them all.

        You know something…I hadn’t noticed the categories list earlier…I guess it was always there. You can count on me for not seeing what’s there and seeing what isn’t.

        That reminds me…I just noticed the typo in my first comment (boon to “your” fans – not “you fans”! I am hopeless!) May I request you to kindly look into the matter and change it…it sounds silly.

        Warm Regards,
        Shafali

  5. Another suggestion…
    Could you please allow your categories to be seen as a list (instead of a combo-box, as it is now.) The categories will then be at display all the time, and your interested readers will be prompted to check them out more often. You get more views, we get more of the cool stuff:-)

    That’s all – no more suggestions this month.

    Warm Regards,
    Shafali

  6. I love this prayer by St. Francis.
    I love it so much that I’m dreaming of manifesting a pilgrimage to Assisi for myself… soon.
    Thank you for posting. What a world we would have if we all got this kind of peace!

    • Ooh, that’s something I’d love to do, one day. I’ve done Walsingham but no further than that; oh and Glastonbury.
      When you go, let us know!!!

      • I think anyone is welcome; and yes, Assissi is indeed in Italy. Francis himself was of Provencal(ie southern France) stock; his name was not actually francis, but this was a nickname like Frenchie because his mother’s family were from Provence.
        Never been to Italy yet…
        xx

  7. Thanks for this, Viv.

    Quote from a song my Uncle wrote:
    ‘we don’t preach a man-made God:/we preach that God made man.’

    HE’s not made in our (faulty/puny/ersatz) image… even if it is at times uncomfortable to, for example, love our enemies…

    And the enduring Lewis:

    ‘…of course, He’s not a tame lion…’

Leave a Reply

