Warning!

  The following lines came to me (partially, anyway) yesterday in church. Those of you who notice the first line(and the title) is in homage to Jenny Joseph’s wonderful poem, give yourselves a gold star. This one is for Mark,who asked for something lighter after the somewhat grim offering yesterday. I was wearing more purple than the Bishop yesterday, and it sort of sparked some thoughts. Enjoy, I’m off to Marks and Spencer’s.

Warning

 

When I am bold I shall wear purple

With red satin undies that nobody sees

but make me feel a million dollars

in an inexplicable, sensual way

I shall say what I mean when I speak

and mean what I say, whatever the cost

I shall not waver in my conviction

that I have a right to be here

I shall leave my face unpainted if I want

And not feel bound by convention or habit

To alter my appearance in the slightest

If that is not how I wish to look.

I will wear flatties even if the style gurus say “No!”

because as a work in progress,

I am a being of perpetual motion

and no one can really run in heels.

I will try new things when I find them

even if they make me sick for a week

I will not follow the herd, but

I may accompany then sometimes

For observation and learning

because, you know, sometimes,

it’s nice to be part of a group.

But sometimes, I am far from bold

and I seek to hide my colours amid the beige

and wear underwear the colour of old gum

and say nothing when I should say everything,

shudder at the thought of trying something new

and hide from those who may need me

because to be bold is also to be a target

and a soul gets tired of being hunted.

So I will start small and work towards

an everyday boldness that becomes

a solid purple beacon of light

By buying those red satin undies

for those days when I need to be bold

and daring, from the inside out.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Warning!

  1. Very cool!
    Do you remember Edie Brikell (sp? )
    “what I am is what I am
    you what you are or what”

    Sadly I am an “or what”

    Undies the color of old gum- haha
    Thanks very much.
    PS I would still love your blog even if you weren’t so accommodating

    • The old gum phrase I owe to an old friend’s throwaway comment many years ago that i stored away for later use.
      I am glad you love my blog still; remember I do strive for balance. For every grim post, a happy one, if possible.
      Seriously, I think that as Hopkins says, “What I do is me: for that I came.” Working out the details is a work in constant progress and revisions.
      xx

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Warning! « Zen and the art of tightrope walking -- Topsy.com

  3. This says it all, for me. Too often the path of least resistance leads to mediocrity and soul-lessness. And too often we hide in the beige because you’re right: to do otherwise often reaps negative responses we may not be strong enough to cope with. A work in progress- true enough! :-) x

Leave a Reply

