The Loneliness of the Not-So-Long-Distance Traveller

 

The Loneliness of the Not-So-Long-Distance Traveller.

Overall, I travel rather a lot for work. But each trip is not particularly long distance, compared with going to say, India or Australia. For one job, I do tours of English locations such as London, Cambridge and a number of other places, as well as my teaching. For the other, I go to Paris, Cologne, Aachen, Lille, and various other places in France.

I came back on Saturday night after my last trip of this year and I decided to tot up how many hotel rooms I have had this year, and it came to twelve.

That consists of 2 in Austria this February, 1 in Paris in March, 1 in Caen(Normandy) in May/June, 1 in Paris also May/June, another 1 in Paris in June/July, yet another Paris one in October and finally one in Lille this weekend. Plus 4 rooms at the Leicester travel lodge at either end of various trips, because since apart from Austria, all my trips are done over land via coach and the early start (1am in one case) mean it’s not feasible to get from my home on the east coast to the Midlands(or wherever) that morning.

Generally, however stressful these work trips are, and however tiring, I do enjoy them but there are moments when I get back to my hotel room at night and just feel so lonely. I’m the odd one out; the kids have their mates, the teachers have their colleagues and usually, the two drivers have each other to share a quick beer at the bar with.

But the loneliness doesn’t last long. In fact, it lasts about as long as it takes me to get ready for bed and fall asleep.

I’m also pretty stoical about the long hours, the delays and the endless small problems that occur en route; there’s nothing anyone can do about this sort of thing and it is pointless to whine and whinge. With one exception, the hotels I have stayed in over the last few years have been acceptable and the beds comfortable, but you know, they are all starting to look exactly the same!

 

Anyway, that’s it for this year, travel wise, and that’s probably just as well with the weather problems. I’m digging in and staying put now for a while!

11 thoughts on “The Loneliness of the Not-So-Long-Distance Traveller

  1. Pingback: The Loneliness of the Not-So-Long-Distance Traveller « Zen and the … | austriatoday

  2. Pingback: The Loneliness of the Not-So-Long-Distance Traveller « Zen and the … | austriatoday

  3. Oh no!! my dear sweet Viv has turned into a rock star 🙂

    ” they are all starting to look exactly the same!”

    Very common theme but I would only know of it from songs and such as it is rare for me to travel more than 50miles in any direction.

    Fortunately for me I love it here although I wouldn’t mind two ancient forests and an ocean.

    You are much better than a rock star. 🙂

    Hope you are feeling well /improving and that you can get plenty of good rest and that your surgery will make next year your best!

    • That made me giggle. me, a rock star? I don’t think so!!
      I’d like to be a best selling author and go on worldwide tours but that’s not likely, at least not in the near future.
      I’m still tired after the weekend but am ok, really.
      god bless you, Mark for your kindness to me
      xx

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Loneliness of the Not-So-Long-Distance Traveller « Zen and the art of tightrope walking -- Topsy.com

  5. I used to have to travel across Canada and up and down one of the Provinces. One of the things I did for myself when I was staying longer than one night…I’d immediately find some fresh flowers for my room.

    For some reason, the bouquet took the sting out of any threats of feeling like I was the only person left on the planet. 🙂

    • What a good idea!
      I had a rose once, in France, which was nice. Most of my stopovers are one or two nighters and I almost never get a chance to go to a shop and buy so much as a toothbrush, let alone flowers. But I take special treats for myself, free samples of creams and so on from my favourite places, and have things that I only use when travelling, which is like flowers, I guess.
      And my husband and I text each other morning and night; to phone gets too expensive, except as a few moment’s of speaking.
      xx

  6. I usually do at least a tour per year… which means 10 hotels in 10 days! 😉 And I travel alone, even if I join groups, so I know exactly what you mean…
    Happy traveling! 😀

    • Wow, ten in ten days? Mind you, you choose your tours; my work dictates where I go, not me. The Paris trip I amy be doing in June goes to the same godawful hotel every year, the teachers like it but it is a dump and the area is dodgy.
      I’m not a person who enjoys travel much at all so it’s an irony that I do it for work; for family trips, or these days, now my daughter is grown up, me and my husband, we usually camp and stay in some of the more rural places. I am hoping to get back to Glastonbury this year too, work permitting. And we have an invite from J to come to Denmark too, to look forward to.

      • I’ve never been to Glastonbury… and other interesting places (just the castles not too far from London)! Will have to organize myself somehow… 😀

      • Glastonbury is magical, truly. And very, very silly too.
        There’s a link on my sidebar for the Chalice well gardens, a virtual tour. It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

