Like a Tree in November ~ stripping the soul bare

Like a Tree in November

 

One by one I will let my leaves fall

All those things that hide my true being:

The words, the smiles, the clothes

Those outward things even I think are me.

Each one detached and falling

Slowly like petals from the cherry tree,

Surrounding my feet, shifting in the breeze

Before settling to begin the slow transition

To mulch and worm food and raw earth.

Then I shall stand naked, stripped bare

Like a tree after November gales.

You will see my true shape unmasked

By pretty colours and shifting shapes

And the confusion of shimmering sunshine.

Then we will see who I might be,

Beneath this coat of many colours

These tales of a thousand nights

And my Scheherazade soul

Who would spin out yet another story

To keep you entertained and distracted

From the true business of staying alive,

Will be faced with the final question:

Who am I?

6 thoughts on “Like a Tree in November ~ stripping the soul bare

  1. Viv, very nice poem, I found it by accident and in reality maybe it was faith … cause it’s right now the perfect poem for my mood

    • Thank you. I am glad it hit the spot for you.
      And I don’t believe in accidents, as such, but in serendipity and synchronicity. Einstein said that coincidence is God’s way of staying anonymous.
      Thank you for visiting and hope to see you here again, soon.

Leave a Reply

