Devas, fairies, and the unseen worlds ~ why there are more things than we ever dream of

Devas, fairies, and the unseen worlds ~ why there are more things than we ever dream of

I’m a mass of contradictions, me. Like Lewis Caroll, I can believe ten impossible things before breakfast and not think it strange, and yet, some things I simply cannot accept. Of all the disciples of Jesus I most identify with, I think Thomas is the closest to my heart. Dear old Doubting Thomas, who demanded to put his hands in Christ’s wounds before he could fully believe in the resurrection. I’m like that; I have to experience certain things before I can accept them. So for all my scepticism, there are things that I believe in that mark me out as one of the fruit-loop brigade. I have enough crystals to set up a business, and while I cannot begin to explain why, I know that using them has had benefits for my health. You may dismiss it as placebo, or something as simple as appreciating them for their intrinsic beauty, but I’ve always found something uplifting, soothing, calming or energising about certain rocks. I can’t explain it, nor can I really justify it, and I’d be very hesitant about attempting to offer the kind of recommendations I see and hear of crystal healers giving. The complex pseudo-scientific rationales about how crystals work actually annoy me.

The same goes for stuff like fairies. I know damn well I must appear crazy to believe in the existence of otherworldly beings, Tinkerbells and the flower fairies, not to mention things like angels and elves, and dryads and the rest. And yet, crazy or not, I think they are real and on occasions interact with humans. I’ve seen and experienced things I cannot dismiss as tricks of the light, visual disturbances, psychotic hallucinations and the products of a vivid imagination.

But I still have no explanation for what these beings are, what they history is and where they come from. I could waffle on about many dimensions, space-time continuums, parallel universes and the like but it would be pointless. I just don’t know.

What I do know is that when I have aimed to work with these unseen beings, things flow in an almost magical way. Gardens bloom with greater vigour, and my home has had an atmosphere of welcome and kindness that people notice the moment they walk in. There is a school of thought that calls the beings that work with the natural world Devas, a Sanskrit word meaning shining ones and the depictions of them correspond to the occasional glimpses I have had. The Victorian idea of flower fairies being pretty winged children of minute size does somehow diminish them, in my view. Devas can be any size they choose to be; in fact I don’t think size has any meaning.

Isobel in Away With The Fairies found that the unseen beings around her became more insistent that she pay attention to them. In her isolated holiday cottage, where the modern world intruded less into her life, she was plagued by odd events. Doors refusing to stay closed, even unlocking themselves, small items of value vanishing and then reappearing where she’d looked ten times, strange fairy gifts of woven twigs and leaves appearing and disappearing; scary and unsettling sounds, electricity faltering and failing.  Her sense of self had been vanishing, her unique identity being eroded by the mundane grind of living a life that wasn’t fully authentic to her creative self. I’ve found the same. So I’ve decided to start paying more heed to them. That’s not to say you can cart me off to the funny farm just yet. In my defence, every year there are discoveries made that overturn previously cast-iron theories. Science is constantly obliged to re-evaluate itself. There are far more things in this amazing world of ours than we knew about even ten years ago. Who is to say that what we know in another ten years will not supersede even that?

My gift to myself this weekend, using hoarded birthday money was this pendant of a deva, in silver, to remind myself that there truly are things beyond imagining, and to re-connect with my own experiences of such things. I may be mad, but I think I am harmless. I’m going to start accepting that my experiences are real, and that there truly are other beings, composed of quite different material to us, dipping in and out of this world, and which wish to work with us and not against us.

10 thoughts on “Devas, fairies, and the unseen worlds ~ why there are more things than we ever dream of

  1. there are things that are experienced but have no explaination – yet. I think it is good just to hold them lightly as part of your experience.

    I know many scientists who are very dismissive of water divining. I don’t think it’s magic, just something that a lot of us can learn, it might be experience, how to read the ground, certain scents that we don;t quite register – the sticks and pendants are just a focus to the mind/body to stop it wandering. Businesses locally use it, it’s expensive digging boreholes in the wrong place.

    We have maybe named certain energies, certain sensitivies to natural elements as “beings” – fairies, devas….

    crystals – I went for a crystal healing for the hell of it. blimey I felt some stuff as stones were placed on or taken away from body. At my Aunt’s funeral her son was taking the piss about her crystals – his step dad passed on over his palm [not even touching his hand], there was a yelp and a jump back in surprise – he was cross he didn’t want to feel anything.

    We have to make our own world view through our own experience. I don’t comprehend previous lives, but when I reiki healer told me something of my last life it all made sense – so I took the suggestion on board, accepted the paradox…it was that I had been a nun and now I struggled with how to serve god in a secular life situation.

    And Thomas – I like that what he put his finger into was not strictly body but a space, a hole….

    • Ah, another Thomas. I think the names we give things are not often what they truly are; we like to anthropmorphise things.
      Dowsing, well, I was taught dowsing by a Copt, who also used to be called in by Severn Trent water and the electricity company to locate missing pipes and wires. It works. How it works, I don’t know.

  2. I see hints of Ginny and Alex. The Zuni and Hopi tribes in the American Southwest, have many interesting traditions and beliefs. They keep small carved figures of animals–carved from rocks–that are kept in a special bowl. The items are like totems–but called fetishes. Popular ones are the bear, wolf, badger, and just about any animal native to New Mexico or Arizona. One is expected to pay attention to the fetishes–feeding them pinches of corn meal that is dropped into their bowl. Each fetish contains the power–spiritual and physical–of that fetish. Bears are often thought of as containing powers of healing. I see some co-relation with your description of “Devas.”
    The New Testament is rich in symbols–both in a modern sense of “symbol” as well as living symbols. But we who are in thrall to the scientific method as the be all and end all way of determining truth and meaning–have lost touch with the ineffable, the invisible, but real presence that is something completely different, but completely vital for life.
    I think of many of Jon Darrow’s explanations as well as Lewis’ in “Mystical Paths” and “Absolute Truths.” I won’t comment on Father Darcy.
    So…enjoy those thin places.

  3. Hi Roy,
    you have no idea what that first part of the comment means to me, having you mention two characters from Strangers and Pilgrims.
    I’ve worked with native american spirituality, have indeed written for Sacred Hoop, the magazine devoted to shamanism and ancient ways. My desk is host to many images of creatures I consider my totems. There is a great deal to be learned.
    Thin places, yes, indeed. Away With The Fairies is set in such a thin place.
    Thank you for visiting again. I must reread Mystical Paths et al again soon.

  4. Now I don’t feel so alone. Just today I was sharing my beliefs with my 7 year old granddaughter who, like most 7 years olds, of course, believes in fairies and devas elves and gnomes and doesn’t think it at all strange that her 78 year old grandmother does too! Thank God for children who remind us all that the world we live in is vast and magical and patiently waiting until we remember who we really are.

    • I’m lucky that my adult daughter has never lost that sense of the otherworlds being close to this one.
      Nice to meet you and thank you for commenting. It means a lot to find others with similar views/beliefs.

  5. I have a pendant almost just like that, Viv! And your post reminds me of the two “I believe lines” in my own bio:

    “I believe in things unseen.
    I believe there are many more facets to the universe than what we ordinarily call ‘real’. “

Leave a Reply

