Four Years on…Celebrating Blogging.

Four Years on…celebrating blogging.

 

Today is a special day for this blog. Four years ago today I made my début into the world of blogging. I’d been feeling a sense of stagnation in my online life, which at the time consisted entirely of the internet forum for Sacred Hoop magazine, to which I’d belonged since ’99. So in the autumn of 2008, I made a decision to step back from it and see what came to fill the void. By the Christmas of that year, I’d realised that blogs were a medium I’d hitherto known nothing about, and in the January I became part of a co-authored blog Café Crem. By the end of the month, I knew I wanted a blog of my own, and Zen and the Art of Tightrope Walking was born.

Blogging is a way of connecting, for me anyway, and of sharing the thoughts and observations that come to me. It’s been a way of meeting extraordinary people, too, and while one or two have proved to be men or women of straw, the vast majority of the folks I’ve connected with have been people I am proud to call friends, even if most of them will never be sitting in the same room, enjoying a coffee with me.

The general focus of this blog has always been about trying to find a sense of balance in life, especially when challenged by mental and emotional distress, and I am always deeply moved when I receive feedback to remind me that while I often feel I am typing into a vast empty void, there are people reading and who find my words and experiences resonate with theirs. If I do nothing more in my life, knowing that I have offered comfort, reassurance and inspiration to others with my words is something I can hold onto in my darker days.

I’ve long wanted to do a collection of blog posts, rounded up and licked into shape as an e-book(or even a paperback) but the scale of the task defeats me. There’s over 700 posts here now. Some are like this one, words for a moment that will pass. There’s poetry (yes, and I keep promising to do an entire book of poems, but am discouraged by the knowledge that so few people read poetry, as well as the fact that I have no clue about creating a table of contents for an e-book of any sort) and there’s fiction. There’s dozens of essays about grief, depression, and spirituality, and even a few humorous ones too. I’ve announced the release of my novels here, and also of life changes too. I try to answer all comments but sometimes I just can’t. I sit and stare at the comments sometimes and I cry, because they’re often so kind I don’t know what to say. Sometimes I can’t answer because I have nothing to say. But I appreciate each and every comment, even the occasional critical one.

The last year, I have posted less often, aiming to post weekly rather than more often. This is simply because I have limited energy these days. I’m trying to conserve it, and use it as wisely as I can. I’ve covered vast areas of subjects and some posts receive daily traffic even years after they were first posted. Some posts seem to slip by without anyone noticing. It’s baffling. I’d love to write one of those posts that goes viral and gets read by tens of thousands but in honesty, it’s probably not going to happen. That’s often down to luck but also to appeal. I write about things that are not really terribly fashionable or appealing, and I know that it’s not a popular cup of tea kind of blog. That’s OK, really. Like with my novels, I write primarily to please myself, to let the being who dwells inside me have her voice (and Monday’s post is about her, the Invisible Woman) and though sometimes I moan about the relatively low number of people who read my stuff, I am content that I do not change who I am and how I write to chase a market that is as nebulous and changeable as the British weather. Writing for a market is a dangerous choice. If I write for myself, then there is one person in the world guaranteed to be pleased with it.

Anyway, I am glad to have all my readers along for the ride, so thank you all for taking the time to read, whether once in a while or as regular thing. Without readers, we would all be just talking to ourselves in the darkness, and without connection we would all be dreadfully alone. Some days I feel so alone, and then I remember that perhaps I am not.

 

10 thoughts on “Four Years on…Celebrating Blogging.

  1. Congratulations Viv! Your blog posts are ones I always read and think about. They often become discussion points in conversation. For me they give a sense of connection to a broader world outside the relatively small isolated rural one I live in. As a fellow writer I love sharing your journey and your advice has been thoughtful and helpful. Keep on writing as much as you are able to. Be well. Thank you Viv.

  2. Sometimes I can’t respond, but I always appreciate the effort you make in writing; sometimes it needs time to digest, cogitate, imbibe, develop one’s response: and sometimes the response is personal and not necessarily for public development and sharing. But the response would never have existed without the catalyst of your posts. So if they make you happy, great! But they also of themselves can engender greater things! Thankyou for your posts :-)

  3. Hello Viv, as one of many who has met you through your blog, it’s nice to read your reflections. ‘Knowing’ someone through the internet is an unusual experience, you share so much of yourself in your writing which is courageous. I always read what you write even if I don’t always comment. xx

  4. I know whereof you speak, err, write! My daughter reads mine on her lunch. Hubby after breakfast, to see what we’ve been up to! Happy blogging.

  5. A late happy b-day, Blog. It’s good to see that not all authors/bloggers were lost in the process. Here’s to another four years and then more! :)

  6. Pingback: Sunday Surprise | creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator)

Leave a Reply

