Potential…

pict0224

Doesn’t look like much, does it?

This is a meadow area in the woodland near my home, yesterday. The woods themselves are ancient woodland that has been managed probably since Norman times, but today is managed by a group of volunteers. They do a grand job of maintaining paths and so on, and raising local awareness of the resource we have here.

This meadow is currently sprinkled with a few clumps of snowdrops and a very few clumps of aconites. As the year goes on, different flowers appear. March and April it will be carpetted by daffodils and by summer time, the grass will be filled by four different kinds of wild orchids.

But you can’t see any of this yet. It’s too early and too cold. You’ll just have to take my word for it that they are there, waiting underground to grow and bloom.

How many things in us are still underground, waiting for the right season and the right conditions before they can bloom?

2 thoughts on “Potential…

    • It’s a rather nice place to be whatever the season. It’s about 20 minutes brisk walk from my house; there are two areas of ancient woodland, one that has been worked and one that has not. I saw a small flock of goldcrests on my way back from that walk too; they are the smallest bird in Britain and fairly uncommon. The woods are home to a lot of wildlife. I just wish I were a better photgrapher that I might capture some of it!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.