Most Haunted Live

   On Friday morning my husband rang me from work with the fatal words, “I know you’re probably going to say no but I thought I’d ask anyway….” and then proceeded to tell me that a colleague of his had offered us priority tickets to go and be in the audience for Most Haunted Live. Now if you’re not familar with this programme, I’d suggest you look it up but basically it’s a team of people who visit various sites around Britain that are said to be haunted and conduct what they call experiments in the paranormal and what most people would describe as running around in the dark, screaming a lot. There’s an equivalent programme running in the USA and many countries and they have a faithful fan base who adore their show. The team consists usually of a so-called psychic or medium, a paranormal investigator(often from a university no one has ever heard of) a lot of camera crew, and a tame celebrity or two as well as the presenter. In this show’s case, the presenter is the panda-eyed Yvette Fielding, most famous for screaming an awful lot on this show, and the tame celebrity was Paul Ross, brother of the more famous Jonathan.

I very nearly did say no, as I would have a bus ride to town, then another hour on the bus to get to where my husband works(where he was waiting with the car) and then at least another hour driving through the wilds of Norfolk in the fog and the cold. But I thought, What the heck, it’s an experience, to which my daughter’s comment  was,  “Yes, but then so is getting your tongue caught in the tumble dryer!” 

We had to be there by 6.15 to get our priority seats but due to the fact that there was nothing on our map to tell us where the actual entrance to West Raynham air field was, we drove right round the perimeter one and a half times before finally finding our way in. It was then 6.30, but Nigel wasn’t letting this deter him, nor the fact that despite being told our names would be put on the guest list instead of the friends who couldn’t make it, neither set of names were there. We just stood there looking stubborn and the TV steward woman, flapping a bit at our stony demeanour hustled off and then came back with two wristbands and took our names. We then had to be searched and Nigel got sent back to the car with his two inch Swiss army knife. I hope none of these people ever work properly for security as I had a much bigger Swiss army knife on the belt of my jeans and nobody noticed. They just opened my handbag, removed my tissues from their wrapper so I didn’t rustle and vaguely patted me down. The sawn-off Kalashnikov in my boot went unnoticed too…

We were in a massive air craft hangar, on the disused air base, and it was all set up with sufficient seats for 500 people. Now, clearly I am naive but I was surprised at the optimism of this. How could they possibly expect 500 people to turn out on a filthy night like this, just to be in the audience for a third rate TV show?

How wrong I was! By the time it began all seats were taken and about 100 people were lurking out the back and sides in the hopes of a seat if any of us lucky ones gave up and went home. By the time anything happened, I was already bored.

The premise of the show is that the team go and conduct an investigation of a supposedly haunted site, and this had been going on all week. What the viewer gets to see is the scene in darkness, viewed with night vision cameras, the “crew” talking to each other with torches under their faces to light them up spookily (just as at school camp), the medium telling them what he can sense, then noises and rapping happening, supposedly sounds being heard, etc etc etc ad nauseam. The screaming is all part of it. During the live shows, audience members(carefully vetted beforehand I assume, the public are not to be trusted!) are selected to take part in seances usually with ouija boards and in vigils where they sit in darkness and wait for the ghosts to communicate with them by either touch or by other means.

At this point, I need to point out that I am a firm believer in the existence of paranormal activity. I’ve come across enough of it first hand to be unable to deny it. This then is why programmes like this one upset me so much.

It’s not just the pretentious TV bods, so full of self importance and shit I can’t imagine how they can actually live, or the exploitation of vulnerable members of the public, or the sheer stupidity of what we’re expected to swallow as “research”, or the obvious fakery and trickery that goes on and the contempt for the viewer that is self evident.

It’s the fact that if there are truly spirits trapped between the worlds, they seek to contact them and make them perform like circus animals.

“Can you throw something? Can you touch someone? Can you knock once for yes and twice for no? ”

Oh, please. That should read Oh puh-leeze! Can you imagine how you might feel, finally making contact with someone only to have them demean your plight by asking you to do tricks? I’d do more than throw things, believe me. If you were stuck between life and death, surely you’d want someone to come and help you get unstuck?

This is the arrant cruelty of the show and the paradox. If there really are spirits in this place(or another) then they come along and mock them. If there aren’t spirits in that place then the whole thing is a total sham.

Relax, I can hear some say. It’s only entertainment.

Hmm. I do remember something about bread and circuses, except Roman circuses had gladiators fighting to the death.

That aside, it’s pernicious for several reasons. The first I have mentioned. The second is the fact that this sort of thing diminishes real paranormal research; it makes it seem ridiculous and beyond a joke and despite the fact that valuable research is going on it is denigrated by many. The third is it inocculates the public against the real thing. By this I mean that the majority of viewers see it as probably all a sham and therefore all paranormal activity and research is seen in the same way. This has a knock on effect. It means that fewer people are open to the idea that there might be more to life than what we can see and hear right here, right now. If you’ve seem something on TV, and have drawn your conclusions about it, what need is there for further thought, further consideration of the issues? It’s the same as dismissing all church matters because you’ve heard some priests turn out to be paedophiles.       

Bursting with both laughter and indignation, we waited for a commercial break and sneaked out at about 10.30pm, the show going on till midnight, and grabbed a hot drink and a burger at the van outside(not complimentary either but thankfully not expensive) before hitting the road home. We got home at around 12.30, and it’s taken me since then to put my thoughts together. Did I enjoy it? Yes, and no. It was a very interesting experience to watch the process of making live TV, for which I am grateful. Would I go again? Probably not, unless I had some way of actually contributing my real thoughts on it. As an audience member I was(with 499 others) treated with a certain amount of contempt and general rudeness by the stewards, and really, we were there to give a spurious credibilty to a show that has none of its own. We were there to clap and look enrapt; to verify credibility when we were in no position to actually do so. Watching the ouija board action up on a projection on the wall, it seemed very certain to me that the finger of crew member and presenter Yvette Fielding was the one pushing the glass. I could see her move first; she also had an earpiece on which meant it was an easy matter for someone to direct her to the right letters in the darkness. I can’t prove this but that’s what it looked like to me. And if you ask a reputable spiritualist, they’ll probably tell you the oiuja board brings  pretty low class of spirit…

TV has a lot to answer for.

11 thoughts on “Most Haunted Live

  1. Hi Viv,

    I appreciate that this is the kind of thing that can only be enjoyed from the standpoint of a sociology experiment. I think the problem is that nothing is sacred any longer. Everything is assessed as either a money maker on television or not. Reality tv is the biggest absurdity. If a phenomenon can be made sensational it is guaranteed to be exploited regardless of the cost to soul and dignity. The night sounds positively surreal. Thanks for sharing it.

    • It was pretty surreal all round. I couldn’t get over quite how self-important everyone was, even the car park attendants!
      It turned out during the warm up that about a third of the audience had been to a show before, a substantial number had come a significant distance(I thought our hour and a half’s drive was excessive but these people came from wayy further) and almost everyone was recording the show to watch later… It never even occurred to me to do that! The woman next to me had been to the Tuesday recording(the crew were there all week) and was gobsmacked when I said I didn’t watch the show and tried to explain what it was; I hastily added I did know what it was about but that I DIDN’T watch it. Weird!

  2. “At this point, I need to point out that I am a firm believer in the existence of paranormal activity.”

    I have known the Family Viv66 for many years and can state, without reservation, that most of what they get up to should be regarded as “paranormal activity.”

    • Thanks for that, mate!
      I do believe those many years are actually about 17 years…so we can’t be that bad or you’d have ditched us ages ago!

  3. Hi Viv,

    A very interesting post:-)

    Recently, one of our many TV channels (can’t remember which one) has begun the telecast of a show called “Raaz Picchle Janam Ka.”

    Mercury watched about half-a-show, and found it ph-unny. This how it goes.
    A man (or a woman) (generally a minor celebrity) is hypnotized and is led through his memories of “a” previous birth (note – not all previous births – but one of them) and it so turns out that men were men and women were women in previous births – they were the same gender and the same species – No one ever said that he/she was a dog, cat, mouse, or bird!

    And the lady who hand-holds them through sort of leads them on…”Look around. Do you see a knife? Is there blood on the knife?” Now…if she already knows all that were there around the previous avatar of this poor man or woman, why doesn’t she just them them whatever she knows?!

    I could go on and on about how these shows makes fools of their audience and advertize all those items that are supposed to make humans live longer, look more beautiful, find a bigger house, and so on…and so forth!

    I say……..eeeyuck! Aroooooooooooooo!

    Licks n wags to you, and barks and bites to them!
    Oorvi

  4. I think I would have struggled to keep a straight face let alone kept my mouth shut, especially during the Yvette forcing of the glass event!!
    I also firmly agree that if a soul is trapped between life and death, they’d have far more important things on their list of priorities than to make a “bleeping” sound to satisfy some dimwit on telly!!
    I’d go for the comedy value though!!!

    • I didn’t keep a straight face at all. But I did manage NOT to make remarks too audible as i was surrounded by fans…that would have been asking for trouble, like being the only Man U fan down in the Liverpool fans…

  5. I’ve seen a couple of ghost hunter shows on TV, and I always wonder why anyone bothers. There’s such a lack of drama. Whatever they yabber on about, you can’t see it. Heck, I can’t even see nebulous shadows. Mostly it’s them sounding stressed, scared (barely), anxious and what have you and prattling about feeling a draft or some such. And it’s all in this green light from the special night vision cameras, which I guess is supposed to add to the spookiness.

    • I know.
      As I said, I’ve had plenty of real experiences so this was so pathetic. My dad was watching and he told me they said(after we gave up and went home) they were going to interview the audience about whether they had sensed anything in the Haunted Hangar but I guess they thought better of it because the hangar has as much atmosphere as…well, a disused aircraft hangar!

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention Most Haunted Live « Zen and the art of tightrope walking -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

