Facing Fear

I’ve always been scared of heights. Even as a small child, I remember having a great deal of anxiety walking down the narrow cliff path from the hotel in Wales my family stayed at a few times. It was the only way to the beach and so several times a day I had to endure it.

The thing about this sort of fear is that it goes deep and it goes beyond logic. I thought I had mostly overcome it some years back when I found myself able to stand on the roof of a carpark without wanting to hug the ground, and later to walk around the summit of Glastonbury Tor without getting vertigo. Or being able to go to the top of mountains and not feel unwell.

But at times it returns as if it had never been away. I had a bad attack of vertigo at Tintgael Castle in Cornwall some years ago and on occasions since.

So you can understand why I was reluctant to tackle the Eiffel Tower. I’d evaded it last time I was in Paris because one kid was too unwell to go up so I stayed firmly on the ground. This time, I made the decision I would get as far as the second level and then decide if I were going to the very top.

Now the Eiffel Tower is over 300m high. That’s ludicrously high.

I went up in the lift to the second level with my eyes shut and my body shaking. I felt dizzy and sick when we walked around. But I decided that how much worse could it be to go right to the top? So into the little final lift I went, along with some of the kids and up we went…. My eyes were shut tight and I was trying not to hyperventilate. At the top, it’s all enclosed by glass which makes it feel a lot better than the middle section which is only enclosed by wire mesh and the breeze comes in.

So I relaxed a little and took photos:

As you can see, it’s very high!

Then we made our way down again in the lift. It takes rather a long time but we were back to the second level again. I was feeling a bit sick, but then the group I was with decided to walk down from the second level to the ground and that for me was when the trouble started.

It wasn’t so bad with someone immediately in front of me but pretty soon the kids lost me and I was faced with the stairs ahead of me. One foot in front of the other, but there are over 1600 steps…and it’s open to the air. You can’t hurl yourself off it; but it still feels as if you might slip and plummet to your death. Every time I loosened my grip on the handrail my body thought it was the rail giving way and I felt a massive surge of fear shoot through me. It takes at least 20 minutes to walk down. I think it took me half and hour. The group were waiting for me at the bottom and I smothered the urge to throw up in the nearest bin. I was shaking for the next half an hour, and I had a thumping headache too.

But despite being completely shit-scared (excuse my French) I’d done it. No one can take that away from me. And next time, I know I can do it again if I have to. I can choose not to, but I know that it’s not because I am being controlled by my fears. I’ll be back in Paris in late May but I haven’t a clue yet about my itinerary. If it includes the Eiffel Tower, I will be OK with that.

If I could only manage to cope like that with my other fears, I’d be unstoppable….

(for more info and a virtual tour, visit: http://www.tour-eiffel.fr/teiffel/uk/ or the wiki site http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eiffel_Tower )

17 thoughts on “Facing Fear

  1. “Every time I loosened my grip on the handrail my body thought it was the rail giving way and I felt a massive surge of fear shoot through me”

    I know exactly how you felt. I am terrified of heights and remember how I felt when I went up the Eiffel Tower….Actually, going back down was worse than going up.

    Good to know you are back safe and sound.

    xxx

    Like

    • thanks, J.
      Going down is always worse than going up,which has created terrible situations in the past. I’ve got to the top of a mountain and then found I am paralysed by fear. I have been talked down off the top of a few hills over the years; yet to be winched off by mountain rescue…
      xxxx

      Like

  2. Hi Viv,

    Welcome back:)

    I haven’t really been scared of heights ever (growing up in the Himalayas ensures that you aren’t ever scared of heights:)) but I have other fears. So I definitely understand how you must’ve felt. I have this debilitating fear of flying. When I am in a plane I am usually sure that something would go wrong and all through my journey I desperately keep hoping that I’d be proved wrong – and when I am, I am so happy that I forget all about it:)

    Regards,
    Shafali

    Like

    • Hiya!
      I was born in the flattest part of England, so hills and heights were totally unfamilar for me in daily life. It’s a funny fear as in so many ways it bypasses my conscious brain and just affects my body. I know I am being silly but that doesn’t help either!
      Weirdly, I am not at all afraid of flying and have even been up in a hot air baloon(best ever) without the slightest qualm.
      But we all have our fears, I guess.
      nice to see you!!
      v

      Like

    • Might have been an asset. I also had one of the teachers who I didn’t want to look like a wimp in front of as he clearly had a low opinion of women generally! Pride is sometimes an asset!

      Like

  3. I feel a little off on the second floor of the shopping mall (or on a step ladder, for that matter) so no way I’d make it up or down the Eiffel Tower. It’s a strong physical aversion that seems to get worse as I get older. Just watching Avatar made me uneasy.

    Like

    • It’s funny but some things simply don’t bother me; I went up to a ridiculous height in hot air balloon for my 40th birthday treat and it didn’t scare me or give me any vertigo at all. I have no idea what will or will not trigger it. But you’re right, it’s very very physical indeed.
      x

      Like

  4. I’ve never been scared of heights but I have a mild form of claustrophobia. I didn’t show any symptoms until early adulthood when I got allergic rhinitis. It’s probably the feeling of not having enough air to breathe that makes me really restless and anxious in closed narrow spaces. It gets much worse if there are other people inside with me (breathing my air).
    Congratulations on being brave and facing your fear. I’m sure once you’ve started, it will be easier for you to face your other fears too. One gains courage and self-confidence step by step.
    XXX

    Like

    • Thanks Shiona.
      I do get a feeling of claustrophobia when I have a bad head cold so I know what you mean.
      My biggest and most troublesome fear is driving; I think I’m gonna need help with that.
      xx

      Like

      • I passed my test about 13 years ago, after 5 attempts but I’ve developped a real fear of it now. I used to drive an ex-army lightweight(airportable) Land Rover, which was what the French call jolie-laid(so ugly it’s beautful) and I never felt scared in that….

        Like

  5. This is a wonderful tale of self-mastery and courage. Only the heart aroused with a dream of surpassing historical limits would confront such fear, engage it head on, take photos at the top, and return, albeit trembling, with a transformational story to share. Marvelous!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Making it to the very top ~ success in stages « Zen and the art of tightrope walking

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.