On this day in 2009…

…I posted my very first blog post.

I’d had the idea in mind for the blog title itself before I even knew blogs existed, but Zen and the Art of Tightrope Walking took a while to come into being. I joined a co-operative blog, Cafe Crem, first, and after a month, I was ready to go it alone.

When I hit publish for this post, my stats will tell me I have done 970 posts in the eight years since I began.  There have been almost a quarter of a million hits. Thousands of comments, likes, shares. It’s been a huge part of my life. It’s where I began to reach out and meet people who (I hate the term) are my tribe. I’ve met a few wolves in sheep’s clothing too, got burned, got hurt. I hope I have touched lives for the better. There’s even a little book, intended as a part of a series using the essays in this blog collected thematically. The first book is on depression. There will be more (one day). There’s posts about my books, stories, poems, rants, paens, authors I love. So much here.

So, wish Zen and the Art of Tightrope Walking a happy 8th birthday. Having seen many blogs begin, flounder, die, and disappear, I know that keeping going is quite an achievement and one I ought to be rightly proud about. Blogging is not longer what it was, as Facebook has taken the place for many, as a forum for sharing, but I will persist and hopefully, you will too.

Bless you all (in the true sense, rather than the wonderful passive-aggressive semi-curse of the American south) and thank you.

7 thoughts on “On this day in 2009…

  1. Wow, that is quite a significant achievement – 8 years! Well done for persevering and for looking on the positive side of things. I don’t like Facebook, so for me blogging will continue to be a much nicer form of communication and writing/reading.

    Like

  2. Congratulations, Viv. And bless you too. That’s quite an accomplishment. I am not too far behind you. It will be seven years for me on March 10, always with one, and sometimes two posts a week. I’m proud of us. We persevere. ❤

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.